Hold onto your Hat! 1+1+1+1=4

So, there I was. At the condo in Florida, all on my lonesome. Grinning stupidly at nothing in particular, still feeling wonderful because Holly had just sent back her final comment on the revision from hell, and it was basically a big “Bingo!” holler.

And then my blackberry chimed the special three-note notifier–the one that tells me it’s either Deidre or Holly or Rich or Bella (or my daughter who’s figured out that I will get out of my bathtub and pad bare-assed naked across the room to answer that particular email-notifier).

It was from Holly.

Quick detour for essential backstory:  Last month I moaned to Deidre that I didn’t think I could finish up the story in 3 books. She and Holly mulled that over. Holly went to pitch for me and guess what?

St. Martin’s Press has offered me a fourth book contract!

Yay!!!!!!

I am so relieved. I’d been clumsily trying to compress the story (it had been wheezing like an accordian being squished by a sumo wrestler) and now I can let it stretch out.

So, here we are. It looks like we’re on a 7 month release schedule. My first book, THE TROUBLE WITH FATE, will be out the 24th of December 2012. The second, THE THING ABOUT WERES, will be out at the end of July 2012. The third and fourth of the Mystwalker series will toddle out to the shelves accordingly.

Books 3 & 4  haven’t got names yet. Mostly because they haven’t been written yet. I’m still flailing around in the first act of book 3.  Don’t be alarmed. I always flail at the beginning. When the doorbell rings, I’m never sure who’s going to be on the other side of it:-)

Fortunately, I can see the ending of this book. Know where it’s going to be staged, and have a pretty good idea of the people involved. It’s just that pesky start that’s annoying the heck out of me…

Hey–do you want to see some pictures from the RWA?

This is me and my books. We are waiting for our first victim.

Who will be the first person to approach our table and ask for an ARC?

Who will claim the very first book I’ve ever ‘signed’ for?

Who??

MY FIRST SIGNATURE!

Now, I wrote her name down on a blue post-it which I slipped into my red wallet. Then I got home and tidied my purse. And now I can’t find the blue post-it.

Who IS this woman?

What is her name?

Anyone know?

About Leigh Evans

Leigh's an urban fantasy writer, living in Southern Ontario.
This entry was posted in Bella Pagan, Holly Blanck, Leigh Evans, RWA 2012, St. Martin's Press, The Thing about Werewolves, The Trouble With Fate. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hold onto your Hat! 1+1+1+1=4

  1. OMG, huge congrats..This is amazing…I’m so happy for you..

  2. Rich Fahle says:

    The adventure continues!

  3. Kimberly Vargas says:

    Congrats on the fourth book deal! I’m so excited for you.

  4. B says:

    YAY! That is absolutely amazing Leigh-Ann!

    Are you back in Toronto now?

  5. Leigh Evans says:

    Thanks, Kimberley!

Comments are closed.