God Save the Queen and Nannies too

Here’s some news that I’ve been saving! Hedi’s going to the UK!

Today, the lovely Bella Pagan, Senior commissioning editor for Tor UK announced a deal for a new urban fantasy trilogy, starting with The Trouble with Fate, a Mystwalker novel.

Yup, that’s me. Or actually, that’s Hedi.

Here’s a link to it: http://torbooks.co.uk/2012/07/17/new-deal-announcement-the-trouble-with-fate/

Here’s why this is super news to me–I had a British Grandmother. Now for some that is statement enough, but for those who didn’t have a Nanny from Gloucester, let me enlarge. My home had its own British embassy–to the right of the top of the stairs, in the large, south-facing bedroom painted, quite appropriately, a soft violet shade. The ambassador had a cloud of white fluffy hair, which she regularly tried to subdue with a series of perms…Oh God. The perms.

Think Miss Marple, without the murder.

There were crochet balls, and knitting needles, and stacks of Woman’s Weekly, and her writing box in which she kept last week’s letters and next week’s stamps.  And let’s not forget tea. All news was met with tea, fortified with an extra spoonful of sugar if life was was less than sweet.

She left an impact on me, my Nanny. And it pleases me no end to know that she’s crowing up in heaven right now.  Her grand-daughter’s books are going to be sold in the country she forever carried in her heart. She’s probably checking her hat in the mirror, getting ready to go tell “Cookie” the news.

A toast is in order. I think I’ll go make a cup of tea.

About Leigh Evans

Leigh's an urban fantasy writer, living in Southern Ontario.
This entry was posted in Bella Pagan, Hedi, Leigh Evans, Mystwalker, The Trouble With Fate, Tor Uk, urban fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God Save the Queen and Nannies too

  1. B says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! That is amazing!!! Wine? 😀

Comments are closed.