Sleep well, Missy.

Seventeen years ago, my daughter and I went to the Humane Society and chose a kitten–the black one with the attitude–and brought her home. Darling daughter named her Missy.

Last Thursday, Missy died.

I needed a few days to get some perspective on it, but even now I find my words on the subject of Missy, the cat with issues, have dried up. Except to say this: She was a mouse-hunting, bug-pouncing, dog-battering, throat purring, claw extending, silence destroying, eight pound scrap of black fur and attitude.

And she will be missed.

About Leigh Evans

Leigh's an urban fantasy writer, living in Southern Ontario.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sleep well, Missy.

  1. I’m sorry for your loss..Last year I lost my dog and it still hurts…

  2. Lynn Rush says:

    So sad. I’m sorry!!!

  3. Having just put our 16 yr old dog down last week, I appreciate what it is like when our four legged friend is no longer there at our feet. As a 4 X cat owner (one even named Missy), I know all about mouse-hunting, bug-pouncing, dog-battering, throat purring, claw extending, silence destroying, scrap of fur and attitude and can’t image how sad I will be when we lose one of those dudes. I hope your daughter appreciates having had Missy around to witness her growing up and know there will never be another Missy to compare.

  4. Denise says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss,Leigh. There are no words that are sufficient. I hope the pain fades and her memory remains strong. *hugs*
    Denise

  5. Beth Ciotta says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss, Leigh. I know that heartache well. Hugs to you and RIP Missy!

    • Leigh Evans says:

      I thought I hit “accept”, Beth. And I know that I wrote a reply, but that seems to be lost too. Sorry for the delay. I want you to know that I appreciate your words:-)

  6. Michele says:

    Oh Leigh-Ann, I’m so sorry about Missy. It’s so tough having geriatric pets that have been part of the family for so long. Hope she’s now kicking some dog butt and mousing to her heart’s content on the other side of Rainbow Bridge.

  7. Shasta Young says:

    Aww, I’m Sorry!

Comments are closed.