Oh hell.

This was my life, post-cricket, on Thursday.

This is 1:42 p.m.

It took 2 minutes to saw through the bubble wrap on the package to reveal the annotated copy of Hedi Book 2 and THE NOTES.

This is my life after getting past the first two paragraphs on THE NOTES.

Somehow I made it to the couch but when I looked up some two hours later half a bottle of beaujolais was gone, and this is what I saw.

This is how my hangover felt Friday morning.

These is what I wanted to do between 4:00 a.m. and 9:30 a.m. on Friday.

This is  what I did instead.

I talked to my friends (Uhm, I had to. I sounded liked a blithering raging monster the night before).

This is what I eventually did.

Life felt marginally better after that phone call to my editor.

I began the important part. I went shopping for essentials.

And I assembled a few essential tools.

I’ll see you when I come out the other side. Until then, please ignore the whimpers from Canada.

Leigh

About Leigh Evans

Leigh's an urban fantasy writer, living in Southern Ontario.
This entry was posted in editing, revision, Revision Hell, The Trouble With Fate, writing lessons and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Oh hell.

  1. B says:

    Hang in there Leigh! You’re going to be absolutely fantastic! *hugs*

  2. Deidre says:

    This is brilliant. And funny. And a great visual demonstration of what it feels like to get an editorial letter. MUAH. You’ve written a wonderful book, but it’s going to be get even more brilliant. Which says a lot b/c it’s already pretty darn amazing.

  3. Tim Barzyk says:

    Wow. Wonderful. Can’t wait…
    Is dedication to writing (and publication) the quickest route to masochism?
    Tim
    scienceforfiction.com
    P.S. Have been through the ringer quite a few times on my non-fiction stuff. Always a wonder to see the end product after working through edits, but you captured the roller-coaster to get there quite well!

    • Leigh Evans says:

      I’m thinking it is, Tim:-) But along the way, there are so many great and wonderful things. You have to remember that as you plod through the tough stuff.

Comments are closed.