All done except the laundry.

Well, I’m back from Bouchercon. I took a plane home on Sunday night–a punitively expensive direct flight. You’re looking for a summary, right? Well, first of all, Bouchercon is smaller than some of the cons I’ve attended. I like that. In my world, small is good. Another plus–it attracts men and women. As I like men, that demographic was a pleasant bonus.

My week went like this:  eating (well, nibbling),  drinking and socializing. I met friends that I hadn’t seen in awhile (see the photo of me and Becci), and re-met writers I’d met at Crime Bake last November. For instance, my friend Julie Butcher and I had a terribly fun meal with Anthony Award winner, Dana Cameron, and respected author and anthology editor,  Toni L.P. Kelner. Toni’s got a new series coming out in the next couple of years. And Dana? She’s plotting her Fangborn series. She made me quite sick with jealousy. She’s actually gone and seen wolves in real life. *Sniffle* I had to make do with dvds. Despite my envy, we traded stories until the Dubliner’s band began to warm up, and then we headed home. Seems we’re party girls no more.

I attended the Charlatan lunch with Julie. That’s us in the picture. She’s in blue, I’m grinning in off-white. (My party-favour included a small bag of sweet tarts). After lunch, I approached Charlaine Harris and said simply, “I’ve never gotten a picture of just you and me.”  She smiled, and well, you can see the results.

I drank more than usual. Never to excess, though I came close on the night the champagne flowed for M.C.’s birthday.  I also learned something that terribly saddened me. Merlot–my favourite go-to wine–is no longer stomach friendly. Oh, the misery…

Julie’s street smarts saved us from a mugging.  She spotted them, I didn’t. Well, not until she said,”They’re after our purses.”  The next day she said, “I love you hunney, but you’ve got to get smarter about the bad guys.”

Food for thought.

So, despite all that eating and lifting of the glass, I dropped four pounds. I don’t where, but I’m not going to backtrack looking for them.

My only problem with Bouchercon? It cost me six days. Four there, and one on either side of the trip. That’s a lot of days when you’re writing a book. And since I neither have fans nor readers, and thus have no books to sign…well, I won’t be going next year.  I see a long ribbon of work for me over the next fourteen months. I’ve got my publication dates: January 2013, June 2013, and January 2014. Seems a way off, but I’ve only got one book finished. I’m halfway through book two, and the deadline for book three is now something that regularly haunts me.

So, it will be tap, tap for me. And for the next bit, visits with writer friends need to be geographically friendly (hey Bianca).

But I’m lucky, aren’t I? I’m blessed with work.

Well, that’s quite a cheeky amount of name-dropping for one post. It’s a cheap trick, filling the blog with names and pictures. But sometimes? A girl’s got to do what a girl’s got to do. Hedi Peacock is calling to me, and I’ve got to figure out how to get her out of that sticky position I wrote her into. My brain is devoted to her, so you, dear reader, only get the lazy part of it. I offered that battered bit to Hedi, but she snorted and went stomping back to Trowbridge in a miff.

But I digress.

Hey, you want to see what they consider an eight dollar breakfast in St. Louis? Take a gander… Amazing, no? Heck, that lump of smoked salmon would have cost me six bucks at Longos.

About Leigh Evans

Leigh's an urban fantasy writer, living in Southern Ontario.
This entry was posted in Bouchercon 2011, Charlaine Harris, Hedi Peacock, Leigh Evans and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to All done except the laundry.

  1. I really loved getting to see you in St. Louis Leigh! Someday I will be the first fan in your signing line at one of these conventions. Now back to work, I can’t wait to read those books. :)

    Becci

  2. B says:

    Hello =)

    Thankfully I now drive (vroom-vroom) and can accommodate your geographical needs =)

    Keep on clack-clack-claking on the great keyboard of imagination! We’re rooting for you!

  3. Penguinpants says:

    Becci can be first in line, but I call dibs on being second.

Comments are closed.